A quick look at George Dubbya Bush by Sect

'Evenin' all :)
I first posted this to alt.astrology.tropical on April 2nd, and I thought I'd also share it here with you fine people :)

================================================

I hope you'll all bear with me here, as this is my first attempt at
analysing a horoscope the classical way, i.e.: by giving due importance
to planetary sect. It's a learning curve for me, but a very interesting
one, all the same.
This is in no way meant to be a political commentary, or an exhaustive
analysis, and I'm trying to broadly follow the steps laid down by Hand
in his book "Night & Day", wherein he analyses the charts of F.D.R, Bill Clinton, Nixon, Hitler, and a couple of others in this manner.

First, here's the birthdata for G.W.B:
July 6th 1946
7.26 am EDT
New Haven, Conn.
72 W 55', 41 N 18'

ASC: 7 Leo 07'
MOON: 16 Libra 42'

The Sun is above the horizon in Cancer in the 12th, so this is a diurnal
chart, but Cancer belongs to the nocturnal sect so the Sun isn't as
strong as it would have been had it been placed in a diurnal sign. In
other words, the Sun isn't in Hayz, but this isn't too serious since
there's a 50-50 chance of that happening. It's aspects are a wide
sextile to Mars and squares to the Moon-Jupiter conjunction in the 3rd
house. I've read elsewhere that this latter aspect somehow strengthens
the Sun because it is in the sign of the Moon's dignity and Jupiter's
exaltation, but this"reception" only works one way, so I fail to see how
the Sun benefits. Besides, Jupiter is out-of-sect and both the Sun and
Moon are peregrine, having no essential dignity, so in my opinion the
Sun doesn't benefit at all from this aspect.
Its position in the 12th house weakens it even further. Classically, the
12th house was considered "evil" because it was the house of "open
enemies"; those who would try to take your life or rob you of your
possessions by the light of day. This is where GWB's Sun is focused, and