Traditional vs. modern

Hello, yet again,

To those who came from modern astrology into traditional astrology,

I am interested to know amongst those methods that you have studied in modern astrology, which (if any) that you still retain in your current practice as traditional/ancient/medieval astrologer.

Let me go first. I was exposed to modern astrology before I found horary astrology and found that it was mind blowing (to say the least). I studied all materials I could get on horary before I then went into natal ancient/traditional astrology and of course, got myself hooked. The power of prediction (which traditional/ancient deal with a lot) is seductive...I have not used many of the modern techniques I learnt (they didn't seem to sing to me - even when I first learnt them!). Having said this, there are a few modern methods that I still apply as they still work well for me:-

1) The big three (triad of Asc, Sun and Moon) in determining and personality. It's still realiable (at least for me) in judging character of a person. Of course, the whole chart must be studied and although the traditional method (humors) is better (in many ways), I still use this big three as a quick scan of character.

2) There are arguments whether the ancients did use secondary progression. If they didn't, then it's considered a modern technique. I still use secondary progression esp. with moon progressing into houses and her progressed phasing. Whenever I look into progressed moon, I would also look into transiting Saturn as the progressed moon and transiting Saturn cycles are about the same (27-30 years).

3) I still use the modern planets but more as generational effects and their locations in houses e.g. I would take Neptune in 10th H seriously (esp. if it conjuncts MC) and delineate that but I never use any of the modern planets as rulers of any sign/house (I was never comfortable using them as rulers even when I was still "modern").