Has anyone heard of this decan system?

Hi everyone, first post here in Skyscript! I have been studying astrology for several years now and I'm glad to have found this place.

Although most of what I've learnt comes from Dr. Adolf Weiss' book Astrología Racional (Spanish version of his books Bausteine der Astrologie), I've read many other books on astrology, but I couldn't find any mention of a decan system that a friend swears by: instead of the commonly used "modern" decans in which the first ten degrees correspond to the sign itself, the second to the following sign of the same element, and the third to the other sign, he was taught by his astrology teacher that the first decan of each sign corresponds to the first sign of the triplicity, the second to the second and the third to the third. In other words, the first decan of all fire signs is linked to Aries and thus ruled by Mars, the second decan of all fire signs corresponds then to the Sun/Leo and the third to Jupiter/Sagittarius.

From what I've read you're extremely knowledgeable folks and I was wondering if you have heard of this array before, about its source and logic. In my experience, they seem to work better at describing the houses and planets in them than the other modern system, so naturally I'm curious.

Fraternally,
sr_sedna

Below is an account of the 'modern' decanate system, which might be of interest.

Margaret E Hone's The modern textbook of astrology
(1951, revised ed July 1967, L.N. Fowler & Co ltd, London).
Decanates or decans
These are divisions of each sign into three. They have no names other than those of the planet ruling them. Thus:-- The Leo Decanate of Aries
The first 10° of each sign are said to be the most emphatically of its own nature and are ruled by its own ruling planet. The next 10° are sub-ruled by the planet ruling the next sign in the same triplicity. The final 10° are sub-ruled by the next in the order of the triplicity.