Planets in houses as significators, not lords

Hi,

I am just learning trad astrology and recently joined a horary astrology group on Facebook. I noticed that some horary astrologers use planets in houses as significators, rather than lords of houses. For example, somebody used the Sun as significator of an employer using the logic that it was lord of the hour, in the 10th house and had a natural signification of authority. The Sun was used in preference to the 10th house ruler.

I was just having a quick look through some traditional literature and couldn't immediately find anything to back this up. To be fair, I didn't look very thoroughly. I was wondering if any other experienced horary paractitioners out there have found cases where choosing planets in houses as significators rather than the ruler of the house cusp is more effective, and if so, when.

Would be most interested in your thoughts / experiences!

Thanks,

Martin

Hi Martin,

Although I primarily do natal astrology, I have some thoughts on this you might find helpful. The issue as I see it, is that signification or indication is a broad concept, and planets can signify things in many ways. For example, in the instance you mentioned, the Sun signifies authority figures both in his own right ("naturally" or "universally"), and also because of his being located in the house of authority. Of course the lord of the tenth also signifies authority, but for a different reason: it rules or manages that house.

In a case like this you can favor the planet in the place, or the planet ruling it. My own reworded version of what Zoller and Morin say, is that the planet in a place is more "immediate" than its lord. So the Sun indicates the authority figure in a more immediate, vivid sense, and he should play an important role in describing the situation. But it's often the case that the planet ruling a place gets the last word, much as when a parent says, "I pay the bills around here, so we're doing it my way."