Sun near Ascendant

Hello everyone,

how "far" the Sun has to/can be from the Ascendant, in order to be considered, traditionally, diurnal in a chart?
Do these "measures" have to do with the number of degrees of combustion (8?30') and under the sunbeams (17? ? I know the number of degrees can vary)?
I am studying a natal chart where the Asc is at 26?45' Aries and the Sun is at 08?08' Taurus and just cannot decide the sect, hayz and everything related to diurnality/nocturnality.

Thanks for your thoughts

Iris

The Sun must be above the horizon for it to be diurnal. The positions you describe show the Sun about 12 degrees below the horizon. It's a nocturnal chart. There is no orb. Above is diurnal. Below is nocturnal.

Keep in mind that Sun conjunct ascendant is not the same as sunrise due to atmospheric refraction. The time of sunrise and sunset will determine whether a chart is diurnal or nocturnal, not whether it is above or below the ascendant - descendant axis. The Sun can be more than a degree below the ascendant and still be diurnal.
Curtis Manwaring
Zoidiasoft Technologies, LLC

The Sun close to the ascendant is on the cusp, but for us to determine whether it is a day/night chart, a day chart is one where the Sun is in the southern hemisphere, above the horizon line, while night is vice versa.

The Asc at 26?45' Aries is, roughly, 11 degrees away from the Sn at 08?08' Taurus, which means that the Sun is below the horizon line, making it a night chart. The Sun is never in sect, nor the Asc and I am not familiar with the term Hayz so, Iris, I'm afraid I cannot answer this part - perhaps Thomas can?

zoidsoft wrote:Keep in mind that Sun conjunct ascendant is not the same as sunrise due to atmospheric refraction. The time of sunrise and sunset will determine whether a chart is diurnal or nocturnal, not whether it is above or below the ascendant - descendant axis. The Sun can be more than a degree below the ascendant and still be diurnal.