Significators in a relationship horary?

Hi,

New to the board and have been perusing the various topics and am impressed by the quality of the posts. I've been working with astrology for 28 years now, but I'm a bit of a novice with respect to horary.

My question concerns significators for a relationship horary. When a person asks question such as "Will x and I be in a relationship?" , the querent is obviously the first house and its ruler, and the quesited is the 7th, which is the relationship. But what of the other person? Is s/he also the 7th? Or is this determined by other factors, like whether the person is a friend, colleague, or where they met?

It does seem to me that in a question such as this, there are three components, person A, person B, and the relationship, but I'm interested in what an experienced horary practitioner has to say.

Thanks!

Re: Significators in a relationship horary?

jc wrote:
But what of the other person? Is s/he also the 7th? Or is this determined by other factors, like whether the person is a friend, colleague, or where they met?
Hi, jc and welcome aboard!

Your assumption is correct, yes, we use the system of derived or turned houses! If the Querent is asking about another person (and their relationship with someone) then we assign the Ascendant to the Querent (unless there is a very solid reason for assigning the Asc to the person captured by the question, for instance in missing persons charts).
The person from the Question that is closer to the Querent then gets the appropriate house. Example: if the Querent is asking about her best friend's love life (and, if she has a good reason to do so instead on her behalf), then the best friend gets the cusp of the 11th - that is her ascendant. Any other person involved in the story then gets the appropriate derived house. In a question "Will my best friend fall in love with N.N.?", N.N. gets the friend's derived 7th house, in this case the 5th.

Cheers,

aglaya