Overcoming afflictions

Hi, can anyone advise me? Im a beginner and reading contradictory statements about the degree to which a person can control, or overcome dispositions in their natal chart.
For instance, what would you say to a person who is struggling to come to terms with very negative interpretations of what it in their natal chart? Some of the literature I?ve read makes quite broad, final statements in this respect, which can be very depressing!
Is it right to regard the natal chart mainly the template, from which we may be challenged in certain ways, But, if the person has the presence of mind they can overturn negative/afflicted aspects. (For example, can a person with afflicted Saturn or Mars in the 7th House eventually learn to curb their destructive or pessimistic tendencies and progress to an enduring happy relationship?
Or, will that person be afflicted by sorrowful and destructive events outside their control regardless of what they try and achieve (ie; early death of a partner).
Likewise, does the age of a person impact upon the strength of these influences? My backround is in forensic psychology and I see this effect in people generally and because I work with people who often cause great difficulties in everyone?s lives! Ps, Im trying to teach myself as much as possible at the moment and plan to enrol on a course in the near future. Any adice is greatly appreciated. Thanks Twizzle.

Hi Twizzle