'Comparison' significators

Hello:

I have a problem for interpreting horaries. Suppose you are faced with questions like these, which involve 2 or more parties:

1. Which ship will arrive first- Ship A, or ship B?
2. Who will I get to meet first- Person C or person D?
3. Should I marry E or F?
4. Should I purchase book X or book Y?
5. "Who will win the election" when there are three or more candidates?

How may I distinguish the significators of the two parties, if they are of the same 'kind'? -- to take [3] for example, what significators should I use to represent the women E and F respectively?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Hi Edward,

This is a topic that comes up every now and then and I wish I could hear the admin Deb's point of view on this. I am no expert but my advice to new horary readers is to try to avoid these types of questions because they can be difficult to decipher. However, they are possible for more advanced readers. Horary does have its limits and I would not recommend asking a question where there are no distinguishing features between the scenarios asked about. One example question I received before was on PhD programs a friend of mine had offers for. I believe there were 3 total. Had they all been the same geographic area and the same subject matter, I would have not been able to offer much information on the candidates. In her case, she applied to slighlty different types of programs and in different regions, which helped guide significators. Some astrologers would not even accept such a question and would have told her to ask about one of the programs.